Barb Caffrey's Blog

Writing the Elfyverse . . . and beyond

When Life Does Not Go As Planned . . . .

with 2 comments

Today was one of those days where I’m reminded of the phrase, “Life is what happens when you’re busy making other plans.”

First, my saxophone student’s mother called late to let me know that her son was not feeling well enough to take his lesson.  (This happens.  I’m just glad she called me before the lesson.)

Second, I was hoping to do something different this evening — something fun, maybe.  Something frivolous, perhaps (that is, if I remember how to “frivol,” if that’s even a word).  But that was not to be, either.

Today was all about getting work done — or in the case of my saxophone lesson that didn’t come off, being prepared to do the work but not being able to do it.  So once again, it’s one of those days where life definitely did not go as planned.

That doesn’t make this a bad day, mind you.  But it does make it a somewhat unsettled one.

And hey, at least tomorrow I know I’ll have a bit of down-time as I watch Dancing with the Stars.

Written by Barb Caffrey

October 23, 2011 at 8:49 pm

Posted in Writing

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Well, you could have used the extra money, but, hey, it could be worse.

    likamarie

    October 24, 2011 at 2:41 am

    • True, but all the work I did yesterday . . . let’s just say that it was difficult, frustrating, little stuff that needs to be done but isn’t all that easy to do, perhaps. (As for the lesson, yes, you’re quite right.)

      BTW, nice write-up in the Journal-Times today for “April’s Law.” 🙂

      Barb Caffrey

      October 24, 2011 at 8:34 pm


Leave a Reply

