Barb Caffrey's Blog

Writing the Elfyverse . . . and beyond

Odds and Ends

with 2 comments

I’ve been too busy to update my blog the last few days . . . so here’s what’s been going on.

First, my car died — well, the engine blew out (all four cylinders went at the same time, along with the head gasket) on a rainy, blustery evening.  I sat by the side of the road for close to an hour, without the heater going because I was more worried about keeping battery power for the hazard lights . . . I didn’t know what had gone wrong, just that something really bad happened when I tried rounding a turn and rather than accelerating, the car went down to 10 mph, then zero — I had inertia and nothing else left to get off the road.  As I was in a bad spot (no lights), the hazards were the priority . . . fortunately I didn’t get hit, the car was towed into the garage I use (Wild Rides in Racine; good and honest mechanics), and I was able to find out what was wrong.

However, my car was fourteen years old and I knew this wasn’t the only problem with it.  Even if I had repaired the engine, I didn’t have any idea what would go next (and as I’ve replaced a number of things in recent years, I knew my car had reached the end of its natural lifespan — if cars can be said to have lifespans); the best solution was to get another car, which I did.

But car shopping, even when it goes well, is exhausting; perhaps that’s why I still feel so drained today (as I found out the engine was blown Thursday, and went car shopping on Friday).  I did find a car I liked, though; another small one (I like those the best).

Second, I did manage about 1000 more words, up to maybe 3000 total, in chapter 21 of CHANGING FACES (the work-in-progress for NaNo).  So that’s good.

I practiced four times this week and my hands are handling it, which is also good . . . most of my technique is there, but the carpal tunnel syndrome makes itself felt every now and again despite my best efforts.  Still, I’m glad to be able to play, as for many years, I couldn’t.

Next, I await the recalls of Governor Scott Walker, Lieutenant Governor Rebecca Kleefisch, and my own Republican Senator, Van Wanggaard.  All of those papers should be filed on November 15, 2011; we’ll have sixty days to get enough signatures (I know it’s over 540,000 needed, statewide, for both Walker and Kleefish, and it’s 1/4 of whatever the total vote was in district 21, which includes most of Racine County and the city of Racine, for Van Wanggaard) to force a recall election.  I believe all three of them will be voted out once a recall election is called; still, all the procedures must be taken care of to get to the end result.

And finally, while I know I’m quite low energy today, I will do whatever I can to give emotional and psychological support to my friends and family, most especially to my good friend Jeff.  (But that’s not really news.)

Written by Barb Caffrey

November 12, 2011 at 8:28 pm

Posted in Writing

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’m sorry to hear about your car. 14 years is fairly long, especially for a smaller car.

    I wish we could add Paul Ryan to the recall list, but, I don’t think that’s feasible. He’s in because people wanted new. By the end of his term, most of his voters will be so sick of him, another person will be elected. Then he’ll come back 6 or 12 years after that, get voted in, just to get on everyone’s nerves… repeat process.

    likamarie

    November 13, 2011 at 12:25 am

    • Lika, with regards to Paul Ryan, we’ll just have to vote him out. I know I’ll take great pleasure in doing so, and I strongly suspect you will do the same. 😉

      Yes, 14 years is a long time for any car’s shelf life. I had this particular car for 7.5 years and it was the last car my late husband Michael drove. I really wanted to keep it going, but a blown engine was beyond my capacity to repair, and besides, I knew there were at least three other minor problems plus two other potential major ones waiting in the offing. I believe this was just the right time for the car to die, so to speak.

      Barb Caffrey

      November 14, 2011 at 10:45 pm


Leave a Reply

