Barb Caffrey's Blog

Writing the Elfyverse . . . and beyond

Just reviewed “Spell Bound” at SBR

with 4 comments

Folks, I just reviewed Kelley Armstrong’s urban fantasy SPELL BOUND at Shiny Book Review . . . here’s a link:

http://shinybookreview.wordpress.com/2011/11/18/kelley-armstrongs-spell-bound-a-quick-fun-read/

I enjoyed this book a great deal.  It’s a fast read, it’s fun, there’s a lot of action and suspense, but the best part about it is how deftly Ms. Armstrong gets in heroine Savannah Levine’s struggles once she loses her power (Savannah’s a witch with demon blood and has been used to being uncommonly powerful).  The “hero’s journey” aspect is done very well, and I appreciated it; that it’s often funny in a sarcastic way appealed to me, especially at this time in my life.

While SPELL BOUND isn’t a perfect book, it’s still a very good book from a very fine writer; I enjoyed it immensely.  Go read my review, then if you’re in the mood for an urban fantasy with werewolves, vampires, demons, and more, give SPELL BOUND a try.  (You’ll be glad you did.)

Written by Barb Caffrey

November 18, 2011 at 9:49 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Just read the review. Very well written and concise. I haven’t read any of the books by that particular author, would you say that if someone picked up a book from the middle of the series they would have no problem following the plot????

    malvikajaswal

    November 18, 2011 at 10:59 pm

    • Kelley Armstrong likes to plot her books the same way renowned SF/F author Lois McMaster Bujold does (though otherwise they’re nothing alike) — that is, _any_ book should be a good gateway into the series. I know that I haven’t read all twelve of these books — I’ve read three, possibly four — and I understood them from right away (I read DIME STORE MAGIC, which I think is book three, first).

      Armstrong’s closest cognate, writing-wise, is probably someone like Jim Butcher, except that Butcher seems to be more overtly violent. (Not in a bad way. But perhaps private investigators just have to deal with that sort of thing more than witches, etc.) Granted, Armstrong’s stories about Clay the werewolf are not only powerful, but extremely violent as well . . . but when Clay’s a minor character, that aura of menace is considerably muted (whereas in Butcher’s work, it seems to be omnipresent whether it’s needed for the plot or not).

      Thank you very much for reading my blog and my review. Much appreciated!

      Barb Caffrey

      November 18, 2011 at 11:20 pm

  2. A friend of mine just asked me to review a book for a friend of hers. LOL…the problem is, I don’t have an ereader and have to read it from my computer desk…not the most comfortable prospect in the world.

    Any suggestions?

    aarongraham

    November 19, 2011 at 9:06 am

    • I often have this problem, too, Aaron, as I don’t have an e-book reader, either. I have a cell phone, but I don’t have one with this particular program; you could see if you do (providing you have a cell phone, that is) as some models _do_ have a built-in program that would allow you to read e-books on it; maybe yours is one of them.

      What I try to do is read an e-book a few chapters at a time. If the book is good, I forget that I’m on the computer; if it’s not good, it’s harder to read through the computer than if you actually have the “dead tree” version because in the latter version, you can skip ahead (and that helps a lot), while in the former, you’re more limited overall, especially when you’re reading an e-version for the first time. And that limitation is very obvious when you’re on the computer.

      My niece has a laptop and a Kindle, so she doesn’t have the same issues that you or I might; I do think Kindles are getting to be less expensive, and over time they might even become free or very low cost. And laptops are easier to set up for an e-book than a desktop computer; you can move that closer to you or further away as you might a real book (same with the Kindle version), though in _any_ e-form, it’s still difficult to jump ahead unless you’ve already read it.

      Anyway, my best suggestion would be to read the e-book version slowly. Take a chapter or two at a time in one sitting unless you’re caught up in it; then read as much as you’re able before taking a break. (Wish I had a better suggestion, but that’s all I’m coming up with.)

      How’s NaNo going for you? (You know mine has been interrupted due to the death of my really good friend, Jeff Wilson, though next week I’ll get back to it and do whatever I can.)

      Barb Caffrey

      November 19, 2011 at 9:16 am


Leave a Reply

