Barb Caffrey's Blog

Writing the Elfyverse . . . and beyond

Quick Vinny Rottino Update

with 2 comments

Folks, Vinny Rottino has come to terms with the New York Mets on a minor league contract for 2012.  This information was released yesterday and was covered (in blurb fashion) by the Racine Journal-Times . . . anyway, Rottino will be playing for his fourth organization (the others being the Milwaukee Brewers, the Los Angeles Dodgers, and the Miami Marlins) and I really hope the Mets will see his worth and value.

Other than that, Rottino is playing winter baseball in Venezuela.  He’s currently hitting .245 according to the Journal-Times report.

In some ways, I wish Rottino had taken the winter off.  I think it’s very hard on anyone’s body to keep playing a sport year-round, even when you’re extremely fit and in-shape the way Rottino is.  I also think that as his AAA season was so successful (he hit .304, he led his team, the New Orleans Zephyrs, in many statistical categories as I’ve pointed out in previous blogs, etc.), he needs to take some time out to rest as he’s obviously put everything he has into improving his game enough so he can make it — and stick — in the big leagues.

Even so, Rottino knows his body far better than I do, and I’m sure he’s doing the right thing for himself.  I hope Rottino will do well in Venezuela and make some valuable contacts; he’s a good man by all accounts.  He’s also incredibly hard-working, as is evidenced by refusing to take time off and being in Venezuela to play the game he loves, baseball, despite his great AAA season.  He deserves to find whatever success he can, and I truly hope he’ll have that success.

Here’s hoping when the 2012 Spring Training rolls around that the Mets will be the organization that realizes what a gem they have in Rottino, and will give him the major league shot he deserves.

Written by Barb Caffrey

November 19, 2011 at 9:32 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I absolutely agree with your hopes for Vinny. I have known him since he was in high school and worked with me. He is one class act. He has what it takes to be a success, just needs a crack in the door.

    Kathie Solie

    November 19, 2011 at 9:47 am

    • Hi, Kathie . . . good to see you again. 🙂 (So to speak.)

      I really hope this will be his year. He’s such a good player and he’s trying so hard. I’m sure that everything he’s done is going to pay off; it’s just a question of when. Some players do make it later than others; pitcher Jimmy Morris is probably the best-known example, but there was a catcher last year who made it at age 33 and had a good season (I can’t remember his name now).

      Even the Brewers saw his potential. The problem was, the timing was just a bit off; also, I think they wanted him as a managerial candidate or as a coach, not as a player. Which is very frustrating considering some of the players they’ve kept on the active roster in previous years who had not only less talent than Rottino but _far less_ talent than Rottino and were more expensive to keep than Rottino, also.

      I don’t know the Mets organization at all. I do know Chris Capuano played there this past year and had a pretty good year for them with one truly outstanding game before Hurricane Irene hit NY. I don’t know if Capuano has re-signed with the Mets or not; I don’t think he has, but that doesn’t mean he won’t. I believe he and Rottino know each other a little bit, and if “Cappy” is with the Mets next year, that might help Rottino somewhat for all I know.

      I just hope he gets the chance he deserves. He’s tried hard, he’s prepared himself, now he just needs the good break. I truly hope he gets it.

      Barb Caffrey

      November 19, 2011 at 9:57 am


Leave a Reply

