Barb Caffrey's Blog

Writing the Elfyverse . . . and beyond

Just Reviewed two “Wheel of Time” books at SBR

leave a comment »

Folks, I reviewed THE GATHERING STORM and TOWERS OF MIDNIGHT, both written by Robert Jordan (and continued by Brandon Sanderson after Jordan’s death in 2007) this evening at Shiny Book Review.

Take a gander:

http://shinybookreview.wordpress.com/2011/11/30/brandon-sanderson-continues-robert-jordans-wheel-of-time-credibly-2-for-1-review-special/

Here’s the upshot: Sanderson writes very well.  I enjoyed what he did, and think he did an excellent job — I know how hard this is because I’m trying to finish Michael’s novels and he wrote in a completely different style from me.  (When he helped me with my novel, ELFY, Michael wrote in my style.  Writing in Michael’s style is much tougher for me than Michael writing in mine was for him, apparently, as it doesn’t come naturally.  I leave it up to the reader as to whether or not Michael was more advanced as a writer/editor at the time of his death, though I know I think he was.)

Both books are good.  I liked TOWERS OF MIDNIGHT better.  I think that book was more humane and made more sense.  But both are good and if you’ve read the previous eleven books in the WoT series, you will enjoy them.  (But if you haven’t, please go out and read the first eleven or you will be hopelessly lost.)

Written by Barb Caffrey

November 30, 2011 at 11:03 pm

Posted in Book reviews

Leave a Reply

