Barb Caffrey's Blog

Writing the Elfyverse . . . and beyond

Part 22 of “Changing Faces” in progress

with 2 comments

Folks, I take my victories where I see ’em. And writing CHANGING FACES is definitely one of those, because I’ve persisted writing this novel over the past ten years.  It’s gone through revisions, the death of my husband Michael, and now the death of my best friend, Jeff . . . and yet I persevere.

I hope that once I am finally done with this MSS, it will find its audience; I may have to self-publish it but I will try it, first, at a few places as it’s, in essence, a Christian-derived fantasy romance.  Not my usual thing, and of course it has some New Age sentiment in it — but there’s nothing in it that is inaccessible, either.

I can also only hope that both Michael and Jeff, who were big fans of my writing in general and CHANGING FACES in particular (both wanted to see this finished and published in their lifetimes), will be happy with the final result.  I know they’d be happy with me continuing onward, though I can’t do anything but that and be me . . . at any rate, getting a thousand words of writing in tonight into the next chapter (part 22) of this work is something to celebrate.

So let the happy dance commence.

Written by Barb Caffrey

November 30, 2011 at 2:25 am

Posted in Writing

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Congrats on your current 1,000 words. Definitely a reason to commence a happy dance. What’s your word count so far?

    Darlene Craviotto

    November 30, 2011 at 2:54 am

    • CHANGING FACES now stands at 120,000 words. Perhaps 15,000 of them have been written during November; I’d hoped for more, of course, but with Jeff’s passing it just wasn’t possible. I may have more in part 22 tomorrow night and if so, I’m counting that as part of November. (I actually am going to count into mid-December, as I said in my blog. At least, I think I said that.)

      Thanks for asking, and I hope your own writing goes very well indeed. 🙂

      Barb Caffrey

      November 30, 2011 at 3:24 am


Leave a Reply

