Barb Caffrey's Blog

Writing the Elfyverse . . . and beyond

Certainty, AKA a Mixed Bag of Thoughts

leave a comment »

I’ve just had the oddest thing happen: someone accused me of being, of all things, certain.

Hmmm.

As a writer, especially of opinion pieces (which, make no mistake about it, blog posts can’t help but be most of the time), it wouldn’t go over well to take a more equivocal stance.  So perhaps that’s why I may seem so “certain” some of the time, even though I’m just like anyone else and have more than my share of uncertainty, too.

One good thing about this world is that there are a wide variety of people in it.  This helps to promote an interesting dialogue, if you’re willing to listen, and only by listening — and learning — can you get anywhere.

Observation is one of the key skills writers attempt to learn; it’s how we grow, as writers.  We can’t just assume we know everything, even when we’re playing around in our own little created universes; if we do, we are doomed.

I have friends of all political stripes, all ethnicities, and all ages, because I find diversity not only necessary, but also to be intellectually stimulating.  This helps me observe, which helps me learn in the bargain; in effect, it’s a “win/win” strategy, and it’s one that I hope keeps me from an interminable stay within the “doomed” category.

That said, I have very strong opinions.  If you’ve read this blog for any length of time, you already know that.  I’m not likely to change some of ’em, especially when it comes to actions I find stupid, pointless, unnecessary, or unjustifiable.  I’m also not keen on hypocrisy, as I find it the root of many actions that I, personally, find reprehensible in modern daily life.

All this means is that I’m sometimes extremely certain; at other times, I’m as uncertain as a newborn babe.  Because that’s what being human is all about.

So, please.  Don’t accuse me of “certainty” as a way of life.  Instead, give me credit for being as human as you are.  (Because believe you me, this blog isn’t writing itself.)

Written by Barb Caffrey

January 22, 2012 at 11:49 pm

Posted in Writing

Leave a Reply

