Barb Caffrey's Blog

Writing the Elfyverse . . . and beyond

Ill Here . . . but Getting Better

with 2 comments

Folks, the last week has been quite interesting — at least in the Chinese curse sense of, “May you live in interesting times” — which is why I haven’t blogged in several days.

To be blunt, I’ve been quite ill with the flu and a sinus infection and a number of other things that got kicked up because of that.  No new writing has gotten done, and my edits are behind (now three edits are in progress, the two longer-term ones plus a short-term job).  And I had to take three days away from my editorial internship, too, which of course doesn’t help anything.

Some days, the minuses definitely seem like more than the pluses, but I have to keep getting up and get whatever done that I possibly can.  And if the best I can do is rest?  Well, then, I guess I’ll rest with the best of ’em.

At least, as much as I can.

There are some positives to report in the past week, though not a whole lot.  I edited a few more chapters of AN ELFY ABROAD (the direct sequel to ELFY).  I was able to do my three-hour shift for my internship tonight.  I attended the most recent Racine Concert Band rehearsal (for our December 13, 2012 concert at Park High School), and while I didn’t play really well, I also didn’t perform horribly.  And I’ve sketched out a few possible scenes for another of my works-in-progress (WIPs for short), while reading at least fifteen books in the past week.  (If I had a Kindle or something akin to it, I’d probably have read even more.)

The other things that I’ve noted in the past week or two that I haven’t blogged about:

The Milwaukee Brewers have parted with pitchers Kameron Loe and José Veras, who weren’t the worst relievers on the roster by a mile.   I’m waiting to see if the Brewers re-sign either of these pitchers at lower salaries.

Politics is in a holding pattern; everyone’s wondering if the United States Congress will ever learn the meaning of the word “compromise” (much less the words “fiscal restraint”), while the term “fiscal cliff” has dominated the headlines along with the stalwart refusal of Congress to do any work whatsoever.

Wisconsin politics is also in a holding pattern.  State Senator Jessica King (D-Oshkosh) has conceded to Republican Rick Gudex of Fond du Lac, and is now an outgoing Senator after losing by only 590 votes.  The Republicans regained control of the state Senate; currently, with one seat vacant, the state Senate stands at 17-15.

And there’s no news regarding the “John Doe” probe of Gov. Scott Walker (R) and his aides, except the fact that the probe is continuing.  (This wouldn’t even be news except that Walker himself believed that the probe was in its final days.)

Anyway, as I start to feel better, I should be able to do more writing, on this blog and for Shiny Book Review and of course for my works-in-progress.  The hope now is to get a book review done for tomorrow night for John Amen and Daniel Y. Harris’s poetry extravaganza THE NEW ARCANA, and another review on Saturday (possibly one of the three-book set by K.E. Kimbriel, as all of them are good, enjoyable novels; if I wait, though, it’s only to do a “two-for-one SBR special”).

So my intentions are to get better, keep writing and editing, and keep posting updates as I have ’em.

Business as usual, no matter how long it takes.  (Right?)

Written by Barb Caffrey

November 29, 2012 at 10:23 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Geez, you’re one busy gal even when you’re sick! Sending you chicken soup healing thoughts from my neck of the woods. Stay warm and drink plenty of fluids!

    darlenecraviottoDar

    November 29, 2012 at 11:52 pm

    • I try, Dar . . . it’s one of those things where I feel awful if I do nothing. But while I was getting sick, I revised one chapter; then I rested for the better part of two days. After that, I attended a rehearsal and did my editing internship shift . . . and revised another chapter.

      I’ll try to keep drinking a lot of water, and am currently wearing my warmest long-sleeved sweatshirt. 🙂 (Which means I’m listening to you.)

      Barb Caffrey

      November 30, 2012 at 12:58 am


Leave a Reply

