Barb Caffrey's Blog

Writing the Elfyverse . . . and beyond

Went to U-C Clinic, Have Bronchitis

with 3 comments

Folks, as you know from today’s earlier blog, I have been sick for not one, not two, but five long weeks.  And I’ve been to the local urgent care clinic, Prompt Care, at least twice before . . . once I’d been given antibiotics for a sinus infection, the second time I’d been given prednisone and sent home again.

Well, today I went back to the same clinic and saw a different doctor.  This particular doctor has seen me several times in the past few years, as this particular clinic serves a lot of people in my particular situation (low income/underinsured/uninsured) but has a rotational physician system (this is why you don’t see the same doctor every time).  Anyway, he said three things:

  1. I have acute bronchitis,
  2. I do need an antibiotic, and
  3. He doesn’t know how this was missed the last time I was in there, as he agreed I’ve been sick with this for at least the last three weeks by looking over the notes the last doctor left (they were consistent, but not as bad, as what I presented with today).

We have a very nice pharmacy here that gives out a certain amount of free antibiotics a year, and I’m going to take advantage of this free program tomorrow when they open up.   (I also was prescribed a cough syrup to help me sleep at night.)

Otherwise, it’s pretty much the same as before — rest as much as possible, drink as many hot liquids as possible (tea with honey, again, or clear soup) to break up the phlegm and work to tolerance (he was surprised I could work at all under the circumstances, and said that I’m much more ill than he can ever recall seeing me — which, considering he works at an urgent care clinic and has seen me ill many, many times, is really saying something).

Anyway, that’s the update.  But I’d still like any thought you might have, including anything regarding holistic cures, because this illness is obviously very, very far from over.

Written by Barb Caffrey

April 14, 2013 at 5:57 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ack. I have no good advice except for wishing that we had a better and more consistent health care system. Hope you start improving soon.

    eurobrat

    April 15, 2013 at 10:09 pm

    • Thanks, Eurobrat. I appreciate your good wishes, and agree with you that our health care system is a mess. I think the doctors are trying their best, and I don’t blame them for this nonsense — really, what’s going on with me should have been taken care of with me going to my “primary care physician,” who I haven’t been able to see in a year due to being without the funds to actually pay for my care. I do think my regular doc would’ve recognized something was off and may have done things differently than the second-to-last urgent care doc, but OTOH, this particular urgent care doctor is quite good and has seen me a number of times, too.

      Sometimes you just don’t present in a way that makes it blindingly obvious that you have something wrong, I guess. Or at least what actually *is* wrong, because the doc last week *did* think I was sick, *did* think I needed rest, said “work to tolerance” and not to feel bad if I couldn’t do anything . . . that was a doctor trying his best, who just didn’t know what was going on at the time.

      And it is possible that the prednisone he prescribed helped to loosen this nasty stuff in my lungs up enough so it was now recognizable to the doc I saw on Sunday . . . as I am a woodwind musician and my lungs are better than normal most of the time, that may have factored into the first doctor missing it for all I know.

      I do think the doctors I’ve seen at this particular clinic have been caring and compassionate — every single one of ’em, and the nurse practitioners and medical assistants as well. I think they’re trying their best.

      I do think our system is broken.

      Barb Caffrey

      April 16, 2013 at 1:18 am

      • Oh, I’m sure that the doctors are very caring. But I do think that our medical system creates situations much like yours in which you’re seen by a different doctor every visit and they don’t have very much time for each patient. They’re caring and do their best, but it’s difficult for them as well.
        Anyway, enough of my ranting 😉 Feel better!

        eurobrat

        April 16, 2013 at 8:52 pm


Leave a Reply

