Barb Caffrey's Blog

Writing the Elfyverse . . . and beyond

A Quick Saturday Update

leave a comment »

Folks, I’ve been remiss this past week in getting some blogs up to be read, but there is a reason for that.

You see, I’ve been working on an anthology submission for the past week-plus.  It has taken a lot of time, mostly because I was asked to substantially revise a story and I wasn’t quite sure how to do it despite the editor’s excellent notes.

This is why I didn’t review anything last week, it’s why I may not review anything this week, either (it depends on how fast I can do the remaining work, really), and it’s also why my blogging has been nonexistent since I posted my end-of-the-season take on the 2013 Milwaukee Brewers.

On the plus side, I have been able to play my instruments and will be playing next week’s concert with the UW-Parkside Community Band after all.

On the minus side, the Racine Concert Band (of which I’m a member) got exceptionally bad news in that Racine Mayor John Dickert’s budget has no money whatsoever for the band in it.  There is still time to counter this, but the easiest thing to do if you’re a Racine resident and love the free summer concerts out at the Racine Zoo is to call both your alderman and Mayor Dickert and ask that the RCB be properly funded.

Anyway, this week has been taken up with writing and editing, which is why I haven’t written any blogs.  But next week I should have more time, and thus should write at least a few blogs on various subjects — but personally, I’m hoping the federal government will have re-opened for business by then and that the debt ceiling crisis will have been averted even if it is a rather easy blog subject to write about.

Written by Barb Caffrey

October 12, 2013 at 2:58 am

Leave a Reply

