Barb Caffrey's Blog

Writing the Elfyverse . . . and beyond

Friday Inspiration — Who Are Your Heroes?

with 2 comments

Friday’s inspirational thought is this: Who are your heroes? And why are they important to you?

Why are heroes important? They give us reasons to keep trying.

Long before I ever knew I wanted to be a writer, I knew who my heroes were. Henry Aaron. Ernie Banks. Larry Doby. And Jackie Robinson. Men who broke the color line in major league baseball, who dealt with gratuitous insults with grace and dignity.

Oh, I had others, too. Helen Keller, for learning and thriving despite being both blind and deaf. Florence Nightingale, for being willing to nurse the sick and for preaching the importance of proper sanitation. Art Pepper for getting away from heroin and resuming his jazz career in his early fifties…and Benny Goodman, for proving that a strong jazz clarinetist could play Mozart with equal ease.

Those are just a few of my heroes.

So who are your heroes? Why do they matter to you?

And one additional question for my fellow writers out there: How have your heroes factored into your writing?

Written by Barb Caffrey

May 29, 2015 at 7:16 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Growing up I called them heroes, but in reality when I look back on it they were just my favorites. I didn’t really pay much attention to their personal lives or their struggles until later in my teens.

    Tim Raines in baseball, stolen base champ and recovering drug addict.

    Rick Mears in racing, Indy 500 champ who later beat alcoholism after retiring.

    kamas716

    May 30, 2015 at 8:38 pm

    • Yes, those are excellent heroes.

      When we’re young, we don’t necessarily realize why we follow this person or that one. But we do it all the same…

      Barb Caffrey

      May 31, 2015 at 12:21 am


Leave a Reply

