Barb Caffrey's Blog

Writing the Elfyverse . . . and beyond

Tuesday Morning Roundup…and “Changing Faces” Update

leave a comment »

Folks, I have been astonished by the number of visitors to my blog over the past few days.

Who knew that writing a blog about editors winning no awards whatsoever at the Hugo Awards would be so popular?

That said, I figured I’d give you an update as to where I’m at with CHANGING FACES, and maybe talk about a few other things.

CHANGING FACES coverMy final edit/rewrite of CHANGING FACES is in train. I hope to have it back to my publisher in a month’s time. (It may go longer. It’s hard to say right now.) I hope to hit my publishing window of late October…we already have great cover art, the blurbs have been written, and now it’s up to me to make all changes.

As for why I didn’t do this before? Simple. Two books came up needing changes at the same time. One had a release date before the other. So, naturally, I took care of the book with the earlier release date first.

I’ve been told that A LITTLE ELFY IN BIG TROUBLE will soon have cover art. (Yes, that’s the book I took care of first. I’d hoped that it would come out this past spring, or maybe early in the summer, but the timing just hasn’t aligned thus far.) So I should hit my mid-to-late September window there.

It’s been interesting to do the last-minute touch-ups on A LITTLE ELFY IN BIG TROUBLE, which is of course a young adult urban fantasy novel, and also the intensive work on CHANGING FACES — a transgender romance with alien entities that may just be angels. (So, technically, a fantasy romance. But a transgender fantasy romance. Clear as mud, yes?)

Plus, I finished up a short story for an anthology, I looked over another few stories (as I am pondering what, if anything, I can try at the Writers of the Future contest, as I remain eligible and hope springs eternal), finished up the summer season with the Racine Concert Band, finished an intensive edit for a client…

In other words, the usual.

“So, Barb, when are you going to get back to reviewing over at Shiny Book Review, hmm?”

I hope to have something later this week. I’ve had three or four books ready to go for a while now–but while I was working on both novels, I just didn’t have any time whatsoever for it.

Now that I’m back down to working on one novel, I hope I’ll be able to carve out a bit of time.

Anyway, that’s my update…stay tuned.

Written by Barb Caffrey

August 25, 2015 at 5:43 am

Leave a Reply

