Barb Caffrey's Blog

Writing the Elfyverse . . . and beyond

Getting Stuff Done, or, a Semi-regular “Changing Faces” Update

leave a comment »

Folks, I’m happy to report that I actually managed to get some solid writing in this evening…which especially pleases me due to the fact that CHANGING FACES (abbreviated as CF, for short) was stalled for several weeks as I tried to plot my way around a thorny problem. (No, I won’t tell you what it was, but I will tell you this much: Elaine Foster, my heroine, is a very elusive character to write. Whereas Allen Bridgeway, my hero, is much easier to write.)

CHANGING FACES coverSo, I’ve managed to write twenty-five hundred new words into this story. Time is short, as I want CF to go to market soon–within a month if possible. (If I wasn’t talking about an e-book publication, this would not be practical, but the e-book revolution has changed everything. Besides, I already have cover art, and my publisher does excellent layout…if not for that, there would be no chance at all to get this out so quickly.) But the story is still evolving, still growing, still telling me more things.

You might be asking yourself, “So, Barb. If that’s the case, why are you so worried about getting it out soon?”

I don’t have a great answer for this, except that CF has been in development a long, long time. (Over fifteen years, easily. And through at least four revisions.) And I think Allen and Elaine’s romance, fraught with peril though it may be, is a story that needs to be told…partly because of the transgender aspects, partly because of the spiritual aspects, and partly because these two individuals love each other so much, it’s hard for me as an author to keep them apart this long in order to best explain their story in a way that I hope will resonate with others.

How far away am I from completion? It’s hard to say, because most of the story from Elaine’s perspective is all new. And what the aliens/angels say to Elaine is also mostly new…as it wouldn’t be a fantasy without something different, and this story couldn’t even happen if not for these fantasy characters, I’d best listen to what they have to say if I’m going to tell the story at all.

“What do you mean, ‘listen to what they have to say,’ Barb?” you ask. (I can clearly hear the annoyance in your tone, by the way.) “You’re the author. Can’t you just tell them what to do and be done with it?”

While that works for some authors, that doesn’t seem to be the way my own stories get told. I have to think about them, and then they come out, sometimes in ways I didn’t totally expect — which is what seems to be happening with CF right now.

All I can tell you is this: In between edits, day-to-day life stuff, and everything else on my plate at the moment, I’m going to keep writing as much as I can, as long as I can, until this story finally resolves itself in a way that feels right to me.

Until I get there, I can’t bring CF to market. But once I’m there, I firmly believe I’ll have a story that’s interesting, relevant, and maybe even helps someone…or at least diverts the person for a few hours. And once I’m finally there, I’ll be extremely and extraordinarily happy to get CHANGING FACES out the door.

So, that’s my semi-regular CF update, already in progress…hope your own writing, editing, and lives are going as well as humanly possible.

Written by Barb Caffrey

January 18, 2016 at 4:49 am

Leave a Reply

