Barb Caffrey's Blog

Writing the Elfyverse . . . and beyond

Book Promotion, and Other Stuff

leave a comment »

Folks, I haven’t talked too much about book promotion here at my blog, but I thought today might be a good day for that.

Why?

Well, I’m trying something new in order to get the word out about A LITTLE ELFY IN BIG TROUBLE. That new thing is called Books Go Social. They have a website, have listed my novel there, will be Tweeting about it for a week (plus, if I did it right, an additional week for free), and have many helpful tips for authors with regards to promotional services.

Note that except for a few small paid promotions here and there, I’ve mostly done free promotions to date. There’s three reasons for that.

  1. One, I’ve been flat broke.
  2. Two, I’ve been fortunate enough to know several book promoters and authors who’ve been willing to tell their readers about me and my writing, Chris the Story-Telling Ape, Sally Cronin, Nicholas Rossis, Charles Yallowitz, and Mrs. N.N. Light among them.
  3. And three, I’ve joined two helpful groups, Marketing for Romance Writers and Exquisite Quills, that have given me support, guidance, and have helped me learn more about promotion.

Most of those places are absolutely free, and they have been enormously helpful to me.

That said, I need to find more readers. I have two reviews of A LITTLE ELFY IN BIG TROUBLE to date, and that’s not nearly enough. (It’s been out since late November, so I’m technically in the 90-day “new book window.”) There are many paid promotions I simply cannot do, because I don’t have enough reviews to access them.

But I could do Books Go Social, and signed up for a $59 bronze package. Normally this includes one week of Tweets; I believe because I signed up during a special, I’ll get one free week as well. (We’ll see.)

Why did I do this?

  1. I’m in need of finding more readers,
  2. I’ve heard good things about them, and
  3. It’s a legitimate business expense.

So, here are my stats at Amazon US right now, so we all can compare how well (or poorly) my advertisement with Books Go Social did:

 

As you can see, I have a long way to go toward cracking any bestseller lists.

The only other thing I can say right now, before the Books Go Social Tweets start, is that I hope anyone who enjoys my writing will review my books and stories. I often hear from friends and fans that they love my work — and the work of my late husband — and when will more stories be available? But they don’t review for whatever reason; they only come and tell me privately.

Well, I can tell you all one thing: While I love getting positive feedback (who doesn’t?), reviews help me keep going, and I deeply appreciate them.

So please, don’t be intimidated by the idea of a book review, OK?

Anyway, Books Go Social will start Tweeting for me later today. We’ll see what happens, but I have a good feeling about it.

Happy Friday, all!

 

Written by Barb Caffrey

January 29, 2016 at 7:20 am

Leave a Reply

