Barb Caffrey's Blog

Writing the Elfyverse . . . and beyond

Trying WattPad

with 2 comments

Folks, it’s no secret that I’m looking for more readers for my series about Bruno the Elfy and his mostly-human teenage girlfriend, Sarah. I’ve tried a number of things to get the word out about my writing, with mixed success…and sometimes, that makes me quite frustrated.

That said, I’ve heard some great things about WattPad, especially for urban fantasy authors. And after checking out the site, I decided to upload my first chapter of A LITTLE ELFY IN BIG TROUBLE there, in the hopes it might garner a few reads, comments, and maybe even some reviews or sales down the road.

Now, why did I pick this novel rather than AN ELFY ON THE LOOSE to start with? I figured it might be an easier “get,” if that makes sense, because it’s obvious from the start that Bruno and Sarah are young, they are in love, and they are in a huge amount of trouble. For a young adult urban fantasy reader, that’s most of what they either want or need to see (along with the magical component, which both Bruno and Sarah have in spades).

Note that I discussed various methods of promotion with my publisher, Lida Quillen, months ago, and Lida assured me that anything I did was fine with her.

That’s why I posted the first chapter of A LITTLE ELFY IN BIG TROUBLE at WattPad today. (Go take a look if you don’t believe me.)

So, for the next three weeks, I’m going to post my sample chapters. They are already up at the Twilight Times Books website, so if you’ve come to my blog looking for more of A LITTLE ELFY IN BIG TROUBLE, please go there forthwith and read the rest right now…and if that intrigues you, please go to Amazon, Barnes and Noble, or OmniLit and get yourself a copy of A LITTLE ELFY IN BIG TROUBLE today.

Happy weekend, folks!

Written by Barb Caffrey

February 5, 2016 at 11:49 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’ve used WattPad to read some short stories, but that’s about it. Have you tried actually writing in it? Personally, I like to just write in Word or WordPerfect and transfer it over to whatever later.

    kamas716

    February 6, 2016 at 3:03 am

    • I haven’t, Kamas. I usually write in Word — I love WordPerfect, and think it’s by far superior, but it didn’t survive the last computer meltdown 😦 — and save to a number of thumb drives (as I prefer to have more than one version saved, and that way I can go back to whatever version I need).

      I think shorter stories tend to do better over there, but there are some stories by well-known and accomplished authors (like Margaret Atwood, who has written some SF&F — usually dystopian or apocalyptic) as well. Those folks seem to put up what amounts to long snippets, or maybe their sample chapters, which is why I thought maybe I should try this as well.

      I know that some of my fellow authors, who have also emerged out of the Baen’s Bar community from the late 1990s/early 2000s, put snippets up at the Bar in the Slush Pile and maybe in other forums, too. (Chris Nuttall still does this from time to time, I believe.) It seems to work well for them, especially if they have a story with a military SF slant.

      I don’t know why I haven’t tried that avenue. But whenever I think about it, I think, “No!” So I don’t do it. 😉

      Barb Caffrey

      February 6, 2016 at 12:19 pm


Leave a Reply

