Barb Caffrey's Blog

Writing the Elfyverse . . . and beyond

Refuse to Give Up

with 4 comments

Folks, I only have a few words for you today, but here goes:

Refuse to give up.

As my ongoing housing crisis continues, I’ve struggled to finish CHANGING FACES. I believe in this story, and have been working on it in one form or another for the last fourteen years. The stress has been enormous to do everything that needs to be done, yet continue to write as that’s vitally important to me.

If I do my job well, no one’s going to care in a year, or ten years, or whatever, that I endured hardship and travail while finishing up this novel. (Nor should they, as the hope is the work stands or falls on its own merit.) And that thought is slightly heartening, oddly liberating…but it’s not as important as the one I already gave you.

In your own lives, you probably have endured much difficulty and stress. Writing — doing something creative, that comes from your heart and soul and mind — is not easy when you’re going through all that. But providing you find a way to keep doing it as you’re able, the journey is worth it…and the end result should be worth it, too.

So, if you’ve learned nothing else about me in all the years I’ve written this blog, know this:

I refuse to give up. And so should you.

Written by Barb Caffrey

November 2, 2016 at 2:12 am

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Writing can be hard when dealing with life’s problems, but it can also keep us sane!
    When can we read ‘Changing Faces’?

    annabellefranklinauthor

    November 2, 2016 at 6:16 am

    • I hope I’m going to finish it within a week or two, then it goes to first readers. After that, it goes to my publisher, who’s been waiting avidly…if all goes well, maybe by Thanksgiving? (May it all go well for a change.)

      Barb Caffrey

      November 2, 2016 at 7:02 pm

      • Good luck! I’m hoping for things to go well for a change, too. Maybe if we both hope, it’ll happen!

        annabellefranklinauthor

        November 3, 2016 at 11:31 am

      • I’m for it, Annabelle. 🙂

        Have a good weekend ahead. 😀

        Barb Caffrey

        November 4, 2016 at 12:24 am


Leave a Reply

