Barb Caffrey's Blog

Writing the Elfyverse . . . and beyond

Friendship Matters

with 6 comments

It’s time for an update post, folks. But I wanted to do it a little differently this time, and start out by thanking my friends.

Because friendship matters, you see. People who support you when you’re down, when you’re frustrated, when you’re wondering if anything you do matters, and when nothing seems to be going right are worth their weight in gold.

I am very fortunate to have a number of great friends. They are supportive, encouraging, sometimes inspirational, bracing, funny, kind, and give me a great deal of advice — most of it good, some of it exceptional.

2016 has been a rotten year for me in many respects. Living situation, health, and finances all were not what I wanted them to be. I haven’t been able to help others the way I wanted to, either, which is frustrating as Hell…because I figure if I’m here on this Earth, I should do whatever I can to be part of the solution, not part of the problem.

Yeah, that’s a catchphrase. But it’s also true. I want to do what I can to help other people. Some days I’m better at that than others, but that is always my goal. And this year, I don’t think I’ve met that goal at all.

CHANGING FACES cover

Anyway, as for the update part of this post: CHANGING FACES is nearly done. (Don’t celebrate yet, but do think good thoughts that I can finish up the few remaining bits, will you?) I’m happy about that, and happy with the progress I’ve made on it.

As for an estimated time of arrival? If I can do what I need to do this week, I might have a shot at it coming out in mid-December of 2016 — this according to my publisher. All of it depends on me finishing this book ASAP and getting it to my long-suffering editor to read over as well as whatever first readers I can finagle or bribe find who can read my novel in a hurry and give me some sort of honest reaction.

Writing this year has been a struggle because so many other things around me that were completely out of my control went wrong. But if I can finish CHANGING FACES well, that matters to me…and I hope it matters to you as well.

Stay safe this week, folks, and do vote, regardless of whomever you’re voting for. (I voted early, so I’m done with that mess.) Voting is important, even in a year like 2016 where we’ve seen more mud and vitriol and nonsense than perhaps ever before — I say “perhaps” because 1876 was a pretty bad year in that regard, too.

More updates as I have ’em, and more blog subjects this week await. (As always.)

Have an excellent week!

Written by Barb Caffrey

November 6, 2016 at 8:50 pm

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You get a high-five from me for getting a book to “almost done” status during a difficult year. I know where you’re coming from. I had a rough winter with health issues that dragged on for months before I was able to get the right medical care. I did finish my novel– I’m waiting for the proof copy to arrive in the mail– but it’s a few weeks behind the schedule I had set for myself.

    Best wishes for your new book!

    Jens Lyon

    November 7, 2016 at 1:00 am

    • Thank you so much! I’m sorry you had a rough winter, as that sounds dreadful. I’m glad you were able to heal up and finish your novel. Let me know when it’s out and I’ll make a point to get myself a copy.

      Barb Caffrey

      November 7, 2016 at 4:25 am

  2. Well done Barb!

    Kate McClelland

    November 8, 2016 at 7:09 pm


Leave a Reply

