Barb Caffrey's Blog

Writing the Elfyverse . . . and beyond

#AuthorsinBloom Blog-Hop: Why I Don’t Garden

with 26 comments

Folks, I’m taking part in the sixth annual Authors in Bloom Blog Hop. And as such, I had to choose between writing about gardening, or writing about recipes.

See, gardening is something people start doing a whole lot more of, when we get into the spring. And making meals from our own gardens, or from fresh produce bought at a Farmer’s Market stall, seems to dovetail with that.

So, let’s get started on why I, personally, do not garden…after I show you this lovely graphic blog-hop starter Dianne Venetta came up with:

So, as I said above, I love this time of year. There’s all sorts of good veggies growing, there’s the promise of spring and new life and second chances…and I love gardens.

But no, I do not garden myself.

Why? Well, it’s a combination of three reasons.

First, I would rather stay away from the great outdoors during spring because bees and wasps wake back up along with everything else…and I am very allergic to them, so allergic that I’ve had to be rushed to the hospital a couple of times after being stung.

Second, I seem to have what’s commonly known as a “black thumb,” meaning I don’t seem to grow anything very well…and things others start in the garden and I try to finish die, too, no matter how much fertilizer I use or how well I follow the instructions of the previous gardener.

And third? Well, my hands are not that wonderful, as I deal with carpal tunnel syndrome on a daily basis. Dealing with hands that cramp up or drop things seemingly at random is not pleasant at the best of times, and it’s much more unpleasant in the garden when you’re using things like gardening shears, hoes, rakes, spades, etc. (Picture the stubbed toes, the long scratches cutting through my sturdy pants from the gardening shears as they fall, always toward my legs or arms or some vitally important place…and then say, “No, thanks.”)

So, that’s why I don’t garden. But it’s why I do enjoy getting food from the local Farmer’s Market, and trying all sorts of new veggie dishes…because half the fun of that is letting someone else do the work.

Before I go, here’s a bit about me that you might like to know:

BARB CAFFREY is a musician, composer, writer, and editor from the Midwest. She loves science fiction, fantasy, and romance, and tends to write some combination thereof nine times out of ten…her latest books are the YA urban fantasy/romance A LITTLE ELFY IN BIG TROUBLE and the LGBT-friendly contemporary romance CHANGING FACES.

As to what I’m going to give away? I figured I’d give the lucky winners various books and stories, ’cause I am a writer and that’s what I do. If you love romance, I’ve got something for you; if you love SF&F, I have something else for you; if you love it all, well, I definitely, decidedly, one-hundred-percent have something for you!

Now, it’s best for you to get to hopping, and find the next blog…lots of interesting stuff awaits!

http://www.linkytools.com/wordpress_list.aspx?id=276327&type=basic

Written by Barb Caffrey

March 27, 2017 at 12:19 am

26 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I don’t garden either i also have a black thumb. Thanks so much for doing the hop!!

    Rachael Clemons

    March 29, 2017 at 1:47 pm

    • Hi, Rachel! Thanks for stopping by. 🙂

      And I’m glad I’m not the only person who does not garden. 😀

      Barb Caffrey

      March 29, 2017 at 4:22 pm

  2. I love this hop. I learn many tips on gardening, recipes, and new authors and their books. I do a little gardening, but mainly just help my husband (he is the gardener).

    Judy Cox
    magnolias_1(at)msn(dot)com

    ladymagnolia99

    March 30, 2017 at 1:51 pm

    • Hi, Judy! Thanks for stopping by…or at least hopping by. 😉 (Sorry, couldn’t resist.)

      It’s good that you are able to garden and help your husband. What’s your favorite plant and/or vegetable? And what would you like to grow more of, but for whatever reason just haven’t gotten around to doing just yet?

      Barb Caffrey

      March 31, 2017 at 12:04 am

  3. Thank you for the Hop. This is a lot of fun. I do a bit of container gardening with herbs and tomatoes, but that’s about all. Sharon catwoman-1(at)comcast(dot)net

    Sharon Guagliardo

    March 30, 2017 at 3:29 pm

    • Hi, Sharon…thanks for stopping/hopping by. 🙂

      It sounds like you’re doing better at gardening than I am, for certain…I know a few years ago, I tried to grow tomatoes on a vine. It was started by a friend of mine who is a good gardener, yet the tomatoes did not turn out. (I think I had one mini-tomato at the very end of it. And we had more than enough rain to grow tomatoes, plus decent sun and it was fertilized.)

      That’s why I’m glad someone else can garden well, ’cause if it were up to me, no one would eat. 😉

      Barb Caffrey

      March 31, 2017 at 12:06 am

  4. Thanks for the chance.
    magic5905 at embarqmail dot com

    joy f

    April 1, 2017 at 12:24 am

  5. Thank you
    Christina / whistleinthewind74@hotmail.com

    whistleinthewind74

    April 1, 2017 at 1:21 pm

  6. I’m in a similar boat as you, I have a black thumb, I hate bugs and I have tendinitis. Lrskt@yahoo.com

    Laura McGee

    April 2, 2017 at 12:04 pm

    • Laura, I’m sorry to hear that about the tendinitis. That’s no fun. I had that for years before being diagnosed with carpal tunnel syndrome.

      It’s a good thing for us, though, that there are so many people who are actually *good* at gardening, though, right? 😉

      Barb Caffrey

      April 2, 2017 at 3:08 pm

  7. Thanks for the amazing giveaway!
    elizabeth(at)bookattict(dot)com

    BookAttict

    April 2, 2017 at 7:45 pm

  8. I’m not great at gardening. But I have been successful with strawberries and raspberries. They’re very easy to take care of and are so yummy! My three boys eat them about as fast as they ripen. turtleemiwee(at)hotmail(dot)com

    Emily Smith

    April 3, 2017 at 5:15 pm

    • Hi, Emily. Thanks for stopping by.

      I will have to try strawberries next time. 🙂 (To garden, that is, not to eat. I agree with you about the eating.)

      Good luck!

      Barb Caffrey

      April 4, 2017 at 9:27 pm

  9. I don’t garden either. Pretty sure I’ll have a black thumb.

    pailofpearls@gmail.com

    darla

    April 3, 2017 at 8:58 pm

    • Hey, Darla. Thanks for stopping by.

      I figure it this way; some of us are gardeners, some of us aren’t.

      But we are all readers. 😀 (At least, if you’re coming here, now.)

      Good luck in the giveaway; I’ll be announcing my two prize winners either late tomorrow night or early Thursday morning.

      Barb Caffrey

      April 4, 2017 at 9:28 pm

  10. Thanks for the giveaway! jeanna_massman@hotmail.com

    Jeanna Schirm Massman

    April 3, 2017 at 11:19 pm

  11. I don’t garden. I’ve never been good at that sort of thing. Plus, I’m not a fan of outside. Thanks for the giveaway! 💖
    bunnyclem(at)gmail(dot)com

    bunnyclem

    April 4, 2017 at 10:02 am

    • I like looking at the outside. 😉 So I’m with you, bunnyclem.

      Good luck!

      Barb Caffrey

      April 5, 2017 at 7:29 pm

  12. Thanks for being part of the hop. I like to garden with containers and growboxes on my porch. My days of kneeling and toiling in the soil are over. 🙂 I’m getting too old for that and the deer and bunnies just eat everything anyway. LOL!
    cchant86 @ yahoo.com

    Catherine Chant

    April 5, 2017 at 10:00 am

  13. this is one of my favorite hops. I hear you on your gardening woes! Thank you for the chance. vipersweb(at)gmail (dot)com

    Rhianona

    April 5, 2017 at 10:01 am


Leave a Reply

