Barb Caffrey's Blog

Writing the Elfyverse . . . and beyond

Quick Wednesday Thoughts

with 8 comments

Folks, I continue to deal with hand issues, and I also have a number of projects hanging fire…so this will be a quick “hit-and-run” type blog, where I tell you what’s on my mind in blurb form.

Ready? Set?

First…what in the world is up with President Donald Trump? I mean, every day, there seems to be a new scandal, something worse happening than the day before. He seems to have come into the office completely unprepared, and due to his impulsivity and other issues, he seems to enjoy scaring the Hell out of people, at home and abroad.

My primary thought here is, “Please stop doing this, Mr. President.” (And that I have to call him Mr. President still irks me something fierce. What did we ever do to get this guy?)

And my secondary thought is, “If there have been criminal — or worse, treasonous — acts committed, the Republican-dominated Congress has to grow a spine or some testicular fortitude. Because we can’t have this happening in the ‘land of the free and home of the brave,’ at all.”

Second, the weather in Wisconsin has been all over the place lately. We’ve had cold weather, hot weather, not too much medium-range weather, and it either is raining in buckets or it’s dry as a bone. I can’t figure it out.

Except for one thing…as weather forecasters can seemingly be wrong every day of the year and still get paid, why didn’t I sign up for that gig? (Yeah, they need more math and science than I had, but I’m sure I could’ve learned it. Ah, well.)

Third, I wonder sometimes about relationships. Why is it that we can try so hard, and get nowhere in them?

I was very fortunate in finding my late husband Michael, but before him I made a couple of bad mistakes. (Of course, what is the definition of a “good” mistake, anyway? One that leads you to the New World when you’re looking for China?)

All I know is, if you’re the only one trying in a relationship, it’s not a relationship. It’s you talking to yourself, and pretending like fire someone else cares when he or she really doesn’t. (Or doesn’t care enough to be useful to you.)

Learn from my mistakes.

And learn from my lone success, too…there is someone out there who will get you, completely, even if you don’t know who that is right now. Refuse to settle for anything less.

Fourth and last…I refuse to give up. I will keep trying.

I just wish I could get a small break in the action where something completely positive happens for a change, that’s all.

Anyway, that’s about it.

What’s going on with you, and what are your thoughts? (What annoys you, or makes you smile, or anything?) Tell me in the comments!

Written by Barb Caffrey

May 17, 2017 at 1:20 pm

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Good luck with the hand issue. I sprained my thumb (sleeping no less) a few weeks back. It’s still sore and week and causing me issues. Take care.

    As for the Trump scandals: I’m waiting for something resembling actual evidence before I get worked up about it. Too many anonymous sources with no external support, and even contradictory claims, being reported. I do with he would quit running his mouth. But at this point, it’s almost like he’s playing the media for the fun of it. The hyperventilating over anything and everything is doing more to trash the media’s credibility than Trump’s.

    kamas716

    May 17, 2017 at 8:23 pm

    • I’m sorry to hear about that, Kamas. That sounds awful about your thumb. 😦

      Yeah, I’m waiting for hard evidence, too. But there’s so much stuff happening that looks all wrong, especially with regards to the Russians (that photo-op the Russians did last week with Trump at the WH, for example), that I am reminded of something LMB said in one of her books: “With all this fertilizer about, there has to be a pony somewhere.”

      I agree that Trump is certainly “playing the media for the fun of it.”

      And yes, the media has lost a lot of credibility over the past few years. How they mishandled Trump before and after the election and didn’t seem to know how to even talk about him was a major problem…and still is.

      One of my other friends pointed out to me recently that there must be _some_ reason Trump is doing all this, providing Trump has some sort of saving grace regarding governance, of course. His reasoning was that from a dispassionate level, Trump bloviating and acting tough and scary probably is destabilizing our enemies more than it destabilizes anything else. (He actually didn’t think Trump was destabilizing our allies; he figured our allies have a good handle on what Trump’s about already. He has more faith than I do, but I’m willing to grant the argument.)

      Ever since then, I’ve been trying to figure out what Trump could possibly gain from such behavior, aside from making his “base” happy from his tough talk and such.

      Barb Caffrey

      May 17, 2017 at 11:28 pm

  2. Enjoying break from social media. Too much work pressure, loads of materials piled up. Wondering what’s U.S. upto? People are even having visa issues. Watching Donald Duck. Eating ice creams (if it helps).

    Sadaf Siddiqi

    May 18, 2017 at 2:18 am

    • I’m glad you’re managing to get a break from the everyday stress, Sadaf.

      We in the States are wondering what the government is up to, as well. We don’t get this, most of us…it makes no sense. 😦

      Barb Caffrey

      May 19, 2017 at 2:10 pm

  3. Hey, that’s not a hit-and-run post, that’s a full post in my vocabulary! 😆

    I hope your hand gets better soon! And I can’t say much about Donald Trump because I can’t stop shaking my head every time I read about that kind of news, so I stopped before my head becomes permanently shaking. 😅 I agree on the weather forecast, and great advice for relationships. 😀

    What’s up with me this week? My phone totally died! It was unexpected, but not totally unexpected as it was 4 years old and it did act up a bit in the past year. I’m using my husband’s old iPhone now and I keep accidentally hit the Send button because it has a smaller screen. On the bright side, it’s better than my old phone in every other way. 😆

    Nicolle

    May 18, 2017 at 6:04 am

    • I’m sorry your phone gave up the ghost, Nicolle. That’s a shame…why is it that they can’t build phones to last more than a few years? (Planned obsolescence?)

      I’m glad that you’re enjoying your husband’s old phone even though it’s taking a bit of adjustment. 😉

      And yes, Trump…every time I hear the words “President Trump,” I think, “What?” It’s like we’ve stepped into a parallel universe or something.

      Barb Caffrey

      May 19, 2017 at 2:11 pm

      • I once heard a story from the early 1900’s where a company sold sewing machines that were made to last, and the company went bankrupt because no one ever needed to buy new ones. Not sure how true it is, but I’m sure everything now isn’t exactly made to last so that we’d buy new ones when they come out. 😅

        Nicolle

        May 19, 2017 at 10:31 pm


Leave a Reply

