Barb Caffrey's Blog

Writing the Elfyverse . . . and beyond

Time Waits for No One…

with 4 comments

Folks, I’ve had it up to here with mortality.

I’ve lost my husband. I’ve lost my best friend. I’ve lost my grandmother, my uncles, my aunt, and numerous other good friends way too early.

But I’m not the only one.

Other friends of mine have lost sisters, mothers, fathers, brothers, best friends, you name it.

We’re all here for a short time. I’m not entirely sure what we’re supposed to do with that time, other than love one another and develop our gifts and talents as much as we possibly can.

So please, remember that time doesn’t wait for anyone.

That’s why you have to make the most of today.

Don’t wait. Use your talents, use your mind and heart and body and spirit, and cherish your family, your friends, and all your loved ones as much as you possibly can.

Do everything you can to make a positive difference, while you still have time. Don’t let anyone put you off; don’t let anyone tell you that the small things you can do on your own won’t ever matter.

Because that is a lie. And you need to remember that.

Mind you, there’s a lot about life that really frustrates me. But one thing I know is true:

Time waits for no one.

So do your best today. Love your best today. Create your best today.

And never stop trying, loving, or creating. (Because the day you stop is the day you lose. Guaranteed.)

Written by Barb Caffrey

June 6, 2017 at 4:04 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’m sorry you lost so many people so early; it must have been difficult. I agree that time waits for no one and that we should make the most of today instead of tomorrow. 🙂

    Nicolle

    June 6, 2017 at 10:35 pm

    • Thanks, Nicolle.

      I wrote this particular post because one of my best friends is watching her brother die now, and he’s only in his early fifties. It just seems wrong to me…I don’t understand why things like that happen.

      My grandmother lived into her late eighties, so she had a good, long life. 🙂

      So did my aunt.

      But when you think about all the people you’ve loved and lost, that total can’t help but go up every year…sometimes it gets hard to bear.

      All you can do is cast your blow against the dark, and refuse to stop creating, refuse to stop learning.

      That’s what I try to do.

      Barb Caffrey

      June 7, 2017 at 1:53 pm

      • It’s hard to bear but everyone dies in the end; at least what we can do is remember them by the memories we had with them. 🙂

        Nicolle

        June 8, 2017 at 10:40 pm

      • I agree, Nicolle. 🙂

        Barb Caffrey

        June 9, 2017 at 8:51 pm


Leave a Reply

