Barb Caffrey's Blog

Writing the Elfyverse . . . and beyond

Music and Writing — Do They Mix?

with 13 comments

Folks, as you know, I’m a musician and a writer. And sometimes I’ve wondered…do writing and music really mix?

I think they do. Being able to hear words as a symphony sometimes helps. It gives you an idea of cadence, measure, tone, tempo…even counterpoint.

But there are times when it can be easier for me to say things with music rather than words. I even know why this is; I trained for a career as a musician from the time I was ten years old.

That doesn’t mean I can’t say it in words, mind. I can. Still, it’s as my late husband put it: there are times where it’s like I’m converting what I see from music to words. Because music was my first language in many senses; I trust that more.

Even so, when both can be combined, it works well. (Check out my novel CHANGING FACES if you don’t believe me.)

At any rate, in a few weeks, I’ll be able to tell you about a new piece of writing I think combines writing and music well — and no, it’s not my own, though it is from one of my writer-friends. (I wish I could say something now, mind, but…better wait.)

Enjoy your weekend, folks. And if you’re in Racine looking for something to do on Sunday night, come down to the Zoo at 7:30 p.m. and listen to the Racine Concert Band’s first free concert of the year — we’ll be playing patriotic songs in honor of the Fourth of July. (And did I mention it’s absolutely, positively free?)

Written by Barb Caffrey

June 29, 2017 at 5:01 pm

Posted in Music, Writing

13 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. A very good post. Thanks for sharing!

    Henrietta Watson

    June 29, 2017 at 5:33 pm

  2. I think music and writing can mix. I have an author friend who used to be a pretty big musician. His writing reflects his ear for music. It’s rhythmic at times. He also uses poetry well in his writing. Exciting about your new project. I’m about to start a new book. I need to think abou it some more. Have a wonderful 4th, Barb!

    Ipuna Black

    June 29, 2017 at 6:32 pm

    • You, too, Ipuna. 🙂 Glad you liked my post, and I appreciated your comment! 😀

      Barb Caffrey

      June 30, 2017 at 3:47 pm

  3. I need music to write to. The creative feed from musicians filters into my head and kicks my own writing buzz off into action; I have a 130 song ‘writing’ playlist (the only problem I have is sneaking off to YouTube to see ‘them’ play the song live!)
    All the best for the concert on Sunday!
    Roger

    Woebegone but Hopeful

    June 30, 2017 at 4:19 am

    • Thanks, Roger! 🙂

      I tend to write to Stabbing Westward’s “Darkest Days” album, mostly…occasionally I write to something else, like Kitaro (Japanese-inflected classical music) or a symphony.

      Barb Caffrey

      June 30, 2017 at 3:48 pm

  4. I agree with this post that music and writing can mix! When I listen to video game soundtracks (my kind of music 😆), I really feel like reading or writing a scene that corresponds with that soundtrack; a slow and gentle theme for a stroll in the forest, fast-paced theme for a heart-pumping battle scene, anything. 😀

    Hope you had a good concert last weekend! ❤️

    Nicolle

    July 3, 2017 at 3:44 am


Leave a Reply

