Barb Caffrey's Blog

Writing the Elfyverse . . . and beyond

Welcome to the Elfyverse…

with 4 comments

Thank you for stopping by my blog, which is called either “Barb Caffrey’s Blog,” or “the Elfyverse.”

Why two names? Well, I figured it would be easier for people to find me if they used my name. But I’ve been writing about Elfys, Elfs, Dwarves, and more for over ten years — thus “the Elfyverse.”

As for what I do here, it’s simple: I talk about anything I like.

I’ve been blogging now for over five years. (Here’s a link to my first blog post, if you don’t believe me.) Over that time, I’ve talked writing, publishing, music, sports, current events, politics . . . anything that I feel like talking about.

So while you’re here, expect the unexpected . . . because you never quite know what I’m about to say.

Please feel free to stop by any time you like. And tell your friends about all my work, including AN ELFY ON THE LOOSE (Barnes and Noble link is here) and the first two stories of my late husband Michael’s, “A Dark and Stormy Night” and “On Westmount Station,” all available at Amazon.

And remember . . . support a real writer.

Written by Barb Caffrey

June 9, 2014 at 5:21 am

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hello Barb,
    If you have no objections, please send me a personal email address .
    Mine is the one listed below.

    I’m not sure if you know this…..but current day in the Philippines, the world of Elves is very real and is an important part of their everyday culture. Maybe not so much in the city of Manila, but in the rest of the country of 80 plus million. There is a termite that can almost overnight build an odd shaped mound 4 or 5 feet tall. It looks like what one might envision Elves would live. The people believe that invisible Elfves build and live in these mounds, ( the termites are thought to be unwelcome guest) and people must walk carefully around them. Unexplained bruises on ones body are attributed to hurting or offending them. My wife was born there but raised and educated in the US. We have a second home that was constructed there. There happened to mound located on the property.
    Before the workers would begin construction on the house, a “witch doctor ” for lack of a better term had to perform a ritual that I found very interesting given the era in which we live.

    Best Regards,
    Durand

    Durand Watson

    February 24, 2015 at 11:25 pm

    • That’s very interesting, Durand. I didn’t know any of that, but I appreciate it.

      I didn’t see an e-mail, however…if you can put one down, I’ll send you an e-mail back in the not-so-distant future.

      Barb Caffrey

      February 25, 2015 at 12:29 am

      • Hello Barb,

        I turned 60 back in April.
        I’m faced with an odd situation in the memory department . ( this is something I hear more and more people complain of )
        While my long term memory is remarkably good, the short term falls short. I had forgotten I had sent a request for your email add. Then it’s obviously you replied to me.
        Barb, I must apologize .
        I was reviewing something and ran across this. Even though you ask me again a couple of days back for my email, it stimulated no memory of this .

        Below please find my email address : Durand Watson
        dwguam@gmail.com

        I have some information regarding Ric that you should have. It’s personal in nature and while it’s appropriate for me to tell you due to your connection to my late cousin, it would not be proper to post it publicly.

        Please email me with the address I can send you this information.

        Thank You Barb,
        Durand

        Durand Watson

        July 26, 2015 at 5:02 pm

      • I’ll try to send you an e-mail tomorrow, Durand. I am currently on a backup computer; my regular one decided to give up the ghost. 😦

        Barb Caffrey

        July 27, 2015 at 12:02 am


Leave a comment