Barb Caffrey's Blog

Writing the Elfyverse . . . and beyond

How Do We Go On?

with 4 comments

Some days are better than others. Some nights, too.

Last night, I had one of the worst nights in recent memory. It seemed like everything was in an uproar — my physical pain was high, my grief level for my father (and, of course, for my husband) was very high, and I was yet again at the same point I often am: Is this all there is? Is there nothing more?

Not to mention the biggest question I ponder daily: Am I doing any good in this world at all?

I believe the unexamined life is not worth living. But my quest to find meaning and purpose in what I do, lately, has been ground down by life circumstances beyond my control. If I had the financial wherewithal, I might consider a vacation…just to get away, to clear my head, to give myself some chance to rest and recover.

But I don’t have the means.

So, I’m trying to give myself a break in other ways. I don’t know yet if what I’m doing is viable, even in the short term. But listening to more music, reading more for pleasure (even if it’s just a frothy romance, if it makes me smile or laugh, it’s worth whatever price I’ve had to pay to get it), and doing what I can to help others (or at least not to hinder them) has to at some point make a difference even if I can’t see it.

I was reminded a few days ago of something that happened when I was in my teens. I was in religious education — CCD class, as I was raised Catholic — and I was a bit older than most of the other students as I wanted to ponder for a few years whether or not to get officially confirmed in the religion. (This was a big deal at the time.) My parents were not happy together, and were on the road to divorce; worse, I felt like I never fit in, and my skills in music, writing, and teaching did not seem like they would ever lead me in a prosperous direction. (I guess prosperous is a matter of opinion.) I often felt like giving up, yet I couldn’t do that. I wouldn’t. But as the chaos around me continued to grow, my personal belief in myself faltered.

Then we had an exercise in CCD class. We had to pick names out of a hat, keep them secret, and write something positive to them for a few days to a few weeks. We could do anything we liked, so long as it was positive.

I can’t remember what I wrote to my correspondent that I’d picked out of a hat. I do remember what the young woman wrote to me, who’d picked my name out of a hat. She sent me pictures of rainbows, poems (not romantic ones, though I wouldn’t have known the difference back then!), and quotes of stuff I’d said when trying to be encouraging that had inspired her. I had no idea that anyone saw me that way, especially as I didn’t see myself that way whatsoever.

When the day came where our correspondent had to come up and introduce themselves, I still remember the young woman coming to me. She was fifteen, I think; I was seventeen. I’m going to call her “Alice,” here…anyway, Alice came up to me, and said she’d always appreciated me. She knew my situation was difficult. (I don’t know how, because while I did discuss some things, I was still deep in the “I don’t know what to say or how to say it” phase of adolescence; sometimes I wonder if I ever got out of that phase, in fact, but I digress.) She wanted me to know that at least one person saw me not only as worthy, but as inspirational…and she reminded me that God (as Catholics believe in a male deity, though some priests including writer and priest Andrew M. Greeley, believe in the Holy Spirit as Sophia, Goddess of Wisdom) loved us all.

I have never forgotten what she said, what she did, or the various ways in which she did it. I also remember how floored I was that she saw me that way.

So, when I think about having a rough night, or two, or twenty, I do my best to remember Alice and what she told me.

I do believe the spirit is eternal, I do believe the Goddess loves us all, and I also believe that we’re here for a reason even if we don’t know what that reason is.

I’ve struggled a lot in recent years with many things. But I’m not yet willing to give up on myself or my talents, no matter how difficult it may seem to use them.

Please wish me well as I continue on this quest to find a meaning, a purpose, a goal, or a decision that matters…not just to me, but to those I care about as well.

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Victor Frankl’s “Man’s Search for Meaning” helped me a LOT during one of my existential crises. Key thought: Sometimes, our meaning finds us, if we are able to sit quietly and listen.

    PapaPat .Patterson

    April 21, 2024 at 6:24 am

    • Yes, it’s a very good book. I’ve read that one, Pat. I will see if I can dig up my copy and reread it. 🙂 Thanks.

      Barb Caffrey

      April 21, 2024 at 4:02 pm

  2. I see you, Barb. You are and have been an inspiration to me. If my writing can do anything to encourage or entertain others, it’s because you’ve helped me hone my skill. I imagine there are many other authors who feel the same way.

    It’s become my daily habit to find what gives me joy and builds up my energy, and make the most of those things.

    Kayelle Allen

    April 21, 2024 at 8:36 am

    • Bless you, Kayelle, and thanks. I appreciate that. I’ll keep working on it. (I still look for “the helpers,” as Mr. Rogers put it. I also try to find good things, such as a rainbow on the way home from another frustrating day. I saw one the other day…it was breathtaking, and it came out of the oddest greenish-black sky. Rainbows still happen, and they’re worthy of celebration.)

      Barb Caffrey

      April 21, 2024 at 4:03 pm


Leave a comment