Barb Caffrey's Blog

Writing the Elfyverse . . . and beyond

One Disturbing Dystopia: tonight’s SBR review.

leave a comment »

Folks, I read Will McIntosh’s SOFT APOCALYPSE.  Be glad; this means you didn’t have to do it.  I found this book thoroughly unpleasant and really disturbing, especially in its treatment of animals; further, I disliked most of the characters except for two minor players, both women.

Here’s the link, with a bit more commentary afterward:

http://shinybookreview.wordpress.com/2011/09/09/disturbing-dystopia-will-mcintoshs-soft-apocalypse/

Now, I gave this book a very generous C- because I felt that the writer, Mr. McIntosh, did his job.  He wrote exactly the story he wanted to write.  I felt it lacked detailing, I really hated it, and thought the exploitation of animals was thoroughly distasteful and would never read anything by him ever again if I had a choice — but all that said, for what he wrote, he did it well.

This novel has some friends in very high places (see my review for further details) and may well be nominated for several awards in the SF/F community.  But I call ’em the way I see ’em, and to my mind, SOFT APOCALYPSE does not make the cut.

Written by Barb Caffrey

September 8, 2011 at 11:24 pm

Leave a Reply

