Barb Caffrey's Blog

Writing the Elfyverse . . . and beyond

Check Out Today’s SlingWords “Christmas Past” Blog…Featuring 12 Great Authors (Including Me)

with 2 comments

Folks, author Joan Reeves has been generous enough to share space on her blog, SlingWords, for a “Christmas Past Promotion.”

What does that mean? Ms. Reeves asked for a link to a book of our choosing (for me, it’s obviously AN ELFY ON THE LOOSE as that’s my only book thus far) and for a past Christmas memory.

Please check out the promotion at SlingWords forthwith, as there should be any number of interesting writers for you to “meet,” not to mention finding new books that interest you — just in time for Christmas!

In case you were wondering, though, here’s my Christmas memory:

In 2001, I was talking with an interesting man named Michael on Christmas Eve. We’d known each other about six months, had been introduced by a mutual friend — and you’d think nothing of this, except this was a long-distance relationship where we’d only met each other once due to him living in San Francisco and me in Iowa.

Anyway, Michael and I were talking. It was Christmas Eve. My family was far away, and his was, too…so we talked and talked and talked, and didn’t care about how much money it cost because hey, it was Christmas Eve. Before we knew it, we’d talked for nearly thirty-six hours in a row about everything under the sun. And at the end of that time, he told me, “I hope we can consider ourselves dating now.”

That was the beginning of my romance with the love of my life, my late husband, Michael B. Caffrey. It is the most precious memory I have…and it happened on Christmas Eve and Christmas Day, 2001.

(Yes, miracles truly do happen.)

For those of you with sharp eyes, yes, I’ve talked about this before, most notably at Murder By 4 in my guest blog last year. It is one of the most precious memories I have, and it did indeed happen at Christmas.

As I’ve said here many times, without Michael, I doubt I would’ve written AN ELFY ON THE LOOSE. I doubt I’d have finished CHANGING FACES (coming in 2015 from Twilight Times Books), either, and I certainly wouldn’t have written any military science fiction at all, whether it was to finish Michael’s stories or not.

Sometimes, one person can make a huge difference in someone’s life. Michael B. Caffrey obviously made a huge difference in mine (please check out my prior blog about Michael’s transformational life if you don’t believe me). He was encouraging, kind, knowledgeable, a skilled editor, and knew how to structure a novel. Between learning from him and working on my craft since, I’ve become a better writer, a better editor, and a far better person.

It is because I took a chance on Christmas Eve back in 2001 that I met and married the most wonderful person I have ever known — Michael B. Caffrey.

Thank you, Joan Reeves, for giving me the chance to spread the word about my work…and more importantly, about my husband.

Written by Barb Caffrey

December 17, 2014 at 1:33 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Thank you for the compliment on my book cover, Barb. I read your story in Sling Words and it brought tears to my eyes. Wow! I wish you much luck with your book. I’m honored to be sharing the Sling Words blog with you today.

    jeanjoachim

    December 17, 2014 at 7:01 am

    • Thank you, Jean. I appreciate your support.

      All I know is, if I had seen your book “Champagne for Christmas” in the pile of books I get through being a book reviewer at Shiny Book Review, I’d have put it to the end of the line. 😉

      Barb Caffrey

      December 17, 2014 at 1:46 pm


Leave a Reply

